Just as I started to write myself about consumption this post pops up. Granted, it is mainly about clothes, but the apparel and fashion industry is a good example how our consumption wastes our resources, causes climate change and thus impacts the oceans.


Gerade als selbst über Konsum schreiben wollte taucht dieses Post auf. Zugegeben, es ist hauptsächlich über Kleidung, aber die Bekleidungs- und Modeindustrie ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür, wie unser Konsum unsere Resourcen verschwendet, Klimawandel verursacht und dadurch die Meere beeinflusst.

terrabluteams

Recycled Clothing as sculpture by artist, Derick Melander

Eco Couture – Sustainable Fashion (Week #41)

The WHAT and WHY:

This will be my second year participating in raising funds for Long Way Home, an organization that builds sustainable schools and teaches sustainable curriculum in Guatemala. As a reclamation artist I create art, fashion, furniture and buildings from found objects, textiles, building materials, and recycled resources.

Newburyport's Rubbish to Runway Fashion Show 2014 Newburyport’s Rubbish to Runway Fashion Show 2014

This year, instead of donating my leftover construction materials to Restore, Freecycle or Craigslist, I made them into fashions to raise money for a great cause. I wish I could show you this year’s fashions designs here, but I will have to wait until after the show (non-disclosure agreements).

Did you know that Americans dispose of 68 pounds of clothing and textiles per year of which 99% could have been recycled? That’s the weight of the Statue of…

View original post 513 more words

